MCBA Preview: 10/27/12

The final week of regular MCBA competition for 2012 consists of three competitions, in order of start time: Huron Valley, West Shore, and Woodhaven. These three are very important competitions, as this Saturday’s scores will help determine which 48 bands will advance to State on November 3rd. To see how bands are currently comparing to one another, as well as indications of the current top 12 in each Flight, check out our version the MCBA CAS chart. Please know that this is not official, and it will change.

Tickets for all three events this weekend are $7 for Adults, and $5 for Students and Seniors. There may be ticket specials and discounts we are not aware of available also.

Huron Valley

The Huron Valley Invitational, hosted by Lakeland High School in White Lake, will open at 1:50 PM. Flight IV begins at 2:00 PM and consists of Atherton and Durand. Flight III will begin at 2:30 PM; Lamphere, Ferndale, and Mt. Pleasant will perform in Flight III.

There is a break at 3:15, and Flight II competition will begin at 3:30. Lakeview, South Lyon, Flushing, Hudsonville, Harrison, Farmington, and L’Anse Creuse will compete in Flight II; Milford will perform in Flight II exhibition. Awards for Flights IV, III, and II will be at 5:45 PM.

Flight I begins at 6:30 PM, and consists of: West Bloomfield, Clarkston, Walled Lake Central, Carman-Ainsworth, Grand Blanc, L’Anse Creuse North, Lake Orion, Troy Athens, Plymouth-Canton, and Novi. Lakeland performs in Flight I exhibition. Awards for Flight I will occur at 9:45 PM.

Lakeland High School is located at 1630 Bogie Lake Road in White Lake (ZIP: 48383).

[mappress mapid=”3″]


West Shore

The West Shore Invitational, also known as “RP@Rockford”, is hosted by Reeths-Puffer at Rockford High School in Rockford.

The competition begins with Flight IV at 3:00 PM. Kent City, Hartford, Comstock Park, Watervliet, Allegan, Belding, Parchment, Grant, Newaygo, and Godwin Heights perform in Flight IV, with Flight IV awards happening at 5:45 PM.

Flight III will begin at 6:30 PM with Wayland Union. Following Wayland is Fruitport, Cedar Springs, Northview, Byron Center, and Lakeshore. Reeths-Puffer will perform in Flight III exhibition. Flight II consists of Jenison at 8:15 PM, and Flight I starts at 8:30 PM and consists of Grandville and Rockford. Awards for Flights III, II, and I will be at 9:20 PM following a special exhibition performance by the Grand Valley State University Marching Band.

Rockford High School is located at 4100 Kroes Street NE in Rockford (ZIP: 49431).

[mappress mapid=”4″]



The Woodhaven Invitational in Brownstown opens at 4:00 PM with the Patrick Henry Middle School. Flat Rock will perform in comments-only exhibition at 4:15 PM.

Competition will begin with Flight IV at 4:30, and includes Columbia Central and South Lake. Flight III starts at 5:00, and includes DeWitt, Hazel Park, Marysville, and Thurston. There is a break at 6:00, then Livonia Franklin, representing Flight I, will perform at 6:15. Flight II rounds out the Woodhaven competition, and includes Wyandotte Roosevelt, Southgate Anderson, and Crestwood. Woodhaven performs in Flight II exhibition at 7:15, with Awards happening at 7:35 PM.

The Woodhaven High School is located at 24787 Van Horn Road in Brownstown (ZIP: 48314).

[mappress mapid=”5″]

This entry was posted in News.